Racing analyst, SCOTT MCDONELL, breaks down the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap to come up with his big value plays. He covers everything you need to know from trainers and jockeys to barriers and weights, as well as the key lead up races that provide the best guide to finding the winner in the grand final. Good luck, punters!



The $1,500,000 Stradbroke Handicap is Group 1 handicap over 1400m at Eagle Farm racecourse during the Queensland winter carnival.

The Stradbroke Handicap was first run on Saturday May 24th 1890 over 6 furlongs and was won by Pyrrhus. The race was ran over the 6 furlongs until 1953 when it went to its current distance of 7 furlongs (1400m).

Some of Australia’s Champions of the Turf have won the Stradbroke Handicap including All Our Mob (1994), Divide and Rule (1970), Dane Ripper (1997), Winfreux (1965) and the mighty Kiwi Rough Habit (1991/92).

Only one favourite has won the Stradbroke in the last 10 years and that was 2019 when Trekking won at the juicy odds of $7.

In what is usually a maximum field of handicappers it can be a difficult job for punters to find the winner. Sir Wisp was the longest priced at 100/1 in 1977.



Liked the way he finished the race off when chased home Eduardo late in the Doomben 10000 first-up from spell. He won the Group 2 Theo Marks when second-up last time in work and the step out to the 1400m looks ideal. He is top pick.



He jumped to the front and gave nothing else a chance this track/distance last start. He has no weight on his back and if he can get a cheap lead again he will take some catching from the corner.