Palmerbet white text Logo
Original Content

Three teams remain undefeated after conclusion of Gather Round

The fourth round of the 2024 AFL season saw the Melbourne Demons silence the Adelaide crowd, Hawthorn nearly produce the biggest upset of the year and three teams remain undefeated.

Demons silence the Adelaide crowd in Gather Round

Regarded as ‘mission accomplished’ by Demons veteran Christian Petracca, the Melbourne Demons silenced a sold-out Adelaide crowd, defeating the Crows by 15 points to kick off the Gather Round. This has also caused the Adelaide Crows to remain at the bottom of the table with a record of 0-4.

Led by Petracca’s 29 disposals, four marks and five tackles and the boots of Baylye Fritsch and Jacob van Rooyen, the Demons dominated possession throughout the entirety of the match, failing to give in to the energetic and proud South Australia crowd.

The Demons’ victory means even more, considering they lost their opening match of the season against the Sydney Swans before continually being talked about in the media regarding the club’s culture. Last round, they were able to put that behind them and produce another scintillating win.

Hawks come close to one of the biggest upsets

In the first game between Jack Ginnivan and his former club, the Collingwood Magpies, the Hawthorn Hawks nearly pulled off one of the biggest upsets. Undermanned and facing the reigning premiers, the Hawks recovered from a 38-point deficit to get within six points after securing the final five goals of the match and keeping the Magpies goalless in the final quarter.

Built around Ginnivan taking on his former club, the forward bagged two goals in the game while Blake Hardwick and Dylan Moore kicked four and three goals, respectively. However, while Sam Mitchell’s men were nearly able to pull off the upset, Collingwood’s tremendous first-half effort saw them walk away with a 77-72 victory as Jordan De Goey, Tom Mitchell and Josh Daicos all had over 30 or more disposals.

Blues, Cats and Giants remain undefeated

After five rounds of competition, the Carlton Blues, Geelong Cats and GWS Giants are the only three teams to remain undefeated this season, while four teams – Adelaide Crows, Hawthorn Hawks, North Melbourne Kangaroos and West Coast Eagles – have yet to register a single victory.

Led by Toby Greene (five goals and 17 disposals), Jesse Hogan (four goals and 15 disposals) and Lachie Whitfield (29 disposals and seven marks), the Giants were too dominant for the Suns, defeating them by a modest 28 points. The experienced Giants never looked like losing from the opening bounce and took control of the game whenever they needed to.

The Geelong Cats join them as one of the undefeated teams after emerging as the winners against the Western Bulldogs by a whisker in the final minutes of the game. The Bulldogs produced a late fightback but left it too late to walk away with the four points. The same can be said for the Carlton Blues, who defeated the Fremantle Dockers after trailing them for most of the match. Able to win in the final two minutes, the fightback from the Blues was led by forwards Charlie Curnow and Matthew Kennedy, before Matthew Cottrell kicked the game-winner.


Power shock Hawks as Harley Reid emerges as one of the best young players of all time

Round 10 Preview

Round 9 Preview

Palmerbet white text Logo